Leadership confirmed with victories in F1, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, Nascar Among Others

With championships in F1, IndyCar, World Endurance, Le Mans, MotoGP and World Superbike, Brembo, the leading designer and manufacturer of high-performance brake systems, reaffirmed its technological leadership in 2016. Brembo will exhibit the latest in competition braking technology at booth #3631 at the PRI Show in Indianapolis this week, December 8-10.


Forty-one years ago Brembo’s first world championship was celebrated as Niki Lauda won his first F1 crown with Ferrari in 1975. Brembo was hoping for great results in 2016 and their teams did not disappoint. Brembo once again provided the stopping power for the 2016 F1 Championship with Brembo teams winning all 21 races this year. This makes it 22 World Championship Drivers’ and 26 World Championship Constructors’ titles in the past 41 years. In addition, Brembo continued for the fifth-straight year as the exclusive supplier of brake systems for the IndyCar Series with France’s Simon Pagenaud winning his first IndyCar crown in the #22 Team Penske Chevrolet.



​When one thinks of Brembo, sports car racing immediately comes to mind and rightfully so. In 2016, Brembo won its 24th overall victory in 24 years at the 24 Hours of Le Mans as the #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid (Dumas/Jani/Lieb) topped the podium. In addition, Brembo-equipped teams were crowned champions in LMP2 (Signatech), GTE-Pro (Ford) and GTE-Am (Ferrari). The GTE-Pro win by the Ford GT on Brembo brakes was historic as the team defended a hard fought win in much the same style over Ferrari as they did 50 years ago.



“It was a great year of racing success around the world for Brembo equipped teams,” said Dan Sandberg, Brembo North America president and CEO. “As we look to the 2017 season we are proud to be the braking partner of choice for the all-new Cadillac DPi-V in the IMSA WeatherTech Championship that will take part in the Rolex 24 Hour At Daytona next month. In addition, at the local level we will be expanding our reach into club racing and track day enthusiasts with our newly released Brembo M6 and M4 calipers. We also provide upgraded braking components for Cadillac, Camaro and Corvette owners who are ready to increase their braking power.”

Johnny Sauter drove his #21 GMS Racing Chevrolet Silverado to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Championship on Brembo brakes. Sauter had three wins in the Truck series this season, including two in The Chase. One of Sauter’s three key wins was at the heavy braking Martinsville Speedway known as the “Paperclip.”


​Dozens of other sports car teams equipped with Brembo Racing brakes were crowned champions in 2016, including the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) where the LMP1 class was won by the #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid (Dumas/Jani/Lieb). The GTE-Pro class was won by the #95 Aston Martin (Sorensen, Thiim,Rigon). In GTE AM the #83 Ferrari 458 (Perrodo, Collard, Aguas) won the class; In the IMSA WeatherTech Championship, Alex Popow and Renger van der Zande won in the PC class while Christina Nielsen and Alessandro Balzan was crowned the GTD champion driving his #63 Ferrari 488.

Brembo continues to shine in off-road as well. Rob MacCachren was crowned the overall winner of the SCORE International Baja 1000 in his #11 Ford F150 Trophy Truck. Brembo brakes were featured on 17 of the 30 competitors in the Trophy Truck Class for this year’s 1000-mile race including pole sitter Kyle LeDuc and second place qualifier Ricky Johnson. Eight of the top ten Trophy Truck finishers all ran Brembo brakes on their trucks. MacCachren also scored a win in the Vegas to Reno race.


Brembo’s dominance in racing in 2016 was not reserved for four-wheel vehicles as Brembo-equipped motorcycles also won virtually every race in the three top series this season. Honda’s Marc Marquez was crowned MotoGP Champion for the third time; Jonathan Rea rode his Brembo-equipped Kawasaki to the World Superbike championship for the second year in a row; and Cameron Beaubier of Yamaha was the MotoAmerica Superbike Champion. Brembo’s dominance in Moto includes 26 MotoGP championships in the past 29 years, 24 out of 28 in World Superbike, and 24 straight in American Superbike.


Founded in 1961, Brembo began racing in 1975 when Enzo Ferrari entrusted the Italian highperformance brake manufacturer with the task of fitting its most prestigious Formula One car. Since then, Brembo has been at the forefront of the motorsports arena, winning over 500 world championships.

Following is a partial list of Brembo’s 2016 Champions and Championship teams. Congratulations to all!




BREMBO Brake Systems (Cars)

Open-wheel Championships

• Driver
• Constructor

Verizon IndyCar Series
• Simon Pagenaud; #22 Team Penske Chevrolet

Indy 500
• Alexander Rossi: Andretti Autosport Honda

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series
• Johnny Sauter, #21 GMS Racing Allegiant Travel Chevrolet

• Pierre Gasly; PREMA Racing

• Charles Leclerc; ART Grand Prix

Formula V8 3.5 Series
• Tom Dillmann; Arden Motorsport

European F3
• Lance Stroll; Prema Powerteam

Super Formula
• Yuji Kunimoto; Team

Closed-wheel Championships

FIA World Endurance Championship
• LMP1: Roman Dumas & Marc Lieb & Neel Jani; #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid
• LMP2: Gustavo Menezes, Nicolas Lapierre, Stéphane Richelmi, #36 Signatech Alpine
• GTE PRO: Niki Thiim & Marco Sorensen; #95 Aston Martin Vantage
• GTE AM: Francois Perrodo, Emmanuel Collard & Rui Aguas; #83 Ferrari 458

24 Hours of Le Mans
• LMP1: Romain Dumas, Neel Jani, Marc Lieb, #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid
• LMP2: Gustavo Menezes, Nicolas Lapierre, Stéphane Richelm, #36 Signatech Alpine
• GTE PRO: Joey Hand, Dirk Muller, Sébastien Bourdais, #68 Ford GT
• GTE AM: William Sweedler, Townsend Bell, Jeffrey Segal, #62 Ferrari 458

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship
• LMPC: Alex Popow & Renger van der Zande; #8 LMPC Oreca FLM09
• GTD: Christina Neilsen & Alessandro Balzan, #63 Ferrari 488

Pirelli World Challenge GT Series
• GTS: Manufacturers’ Championship: Ford

Blancpain GT Series
• Dominik Baumann & Maximilian Buhk; Mercedes AMG-Team HTP Motorsport

SCORE International Overall & Trophy Truck Class
• Steven Eugenio; #7 Chevrolet Silverado

SCORE International Tecate SCORE Baja 1000
• Rob MacCachren; #11 Ford F-150

Rally Championships

• E.Lappi/J. Ferme; Skoda Fabia R5

Rally Raid - Dakar
• S. Peterhansel / J.P. Cottret; Peugeot 2008 DKR

BREMBO Brake Systems (Motorcycle)

• Marc Marquez; #93 Repsol Honda

• Johann Zarco, #5 Kalex

• Brad Binder; #41 KTM

World Superbike
• Jonathan Rea; #1 Team Kawasaki

World Superstock 1000
• Raffaele De Rosa; #35 Althea Racing BMW S1000RR

MotoAmerica Superbike
• Cameron Beaubier; #6 Graves Motorsports Yamaha

• Katsuyuki Nakasuga; Yamaha


• Anthony Delhalle; Suzuki Endurance Racing Team

• Alex Cudlin; Moto Ain CRT Aprilla


• Jeffrey Herlings; KTM


TR1 (World)
• Toni Bou; Montesa-HRC

Rally Raid

• Toby Price; KTM Factory Racing


World Superbike
• Jonathan Rea, #1 Team Kawasaki

• Katsuyuki Nakasuga; Yamaha

• Driver: Yuuki Takahashi, Moriwaki