The Choice of Racing Champions in 2017


 Leadership confirmed with victories in NASCAR, F1, MotoGP, Le Mans, IMSA among others


With championships in F1, NASCAR, World Endurance Championship, Le Mans, MotoGP and World Superbike - Brembo, the world leader and acknowledged innovator of brake technology, reaffirmed its technological motorsport leadership in 2017. ​


Forty-two years ago, Brembo’s first world championship was celebrated as Niki Lauda won his first F1 crown with Ferrari in 1975.

In 2017, Brembo once again provided the stopping power for the F1 Championship with Brembo teams winning all 21 races this year.

This makes it 23 World Championship Drivers’ and 27 World Championship Constructors’ titles in the past 42 years.

Together with Furniture Row Racing and Martin Truex Jr., Brembo secured the NASCAR Championship stopping the #78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota Camry.

Truex won eight races this season, including the season finale at Miami-Homestead Speedway.

A pivotal race for Truex and Brembo was Martinsville (known as the “Paperclip”), the heaviest braking track on the NASCAR schedule, where he finished a career best second.

As a result, Truex was able to close the season winning at Miami-Homestead Speedway. ​


When one thinks of Brembo, sports car racing immediately comes to mind and rightfully so.In 2017, Brembo won its 25th overall victory in 25 years at the 24 Hours of Le Mans as the #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid topped the podium.

In addition, Brembo-equipped teams were crowned champions in LMP2 Oreca, GTE-Pro Aston Martin and GTE-Am Ferrari.

“We had another very strong year at race tracks around the world,” said Dan Sandberg, Brembo North America President and CEO.
“We are proud to have won the NASCAR Monster Energy Championship as the braking partner of choice on Martin Truex’s #78 Furniture Row Toyota Camry. From the demanding dirt of Baja to F1 and the grueling endurance runs like Le Mans, Brembo equipped teams stood on the podium more than any other braking brand.”


Dozens of other sports car teams equipped with Brembo Racing brakes were crowned champions in 2017, including the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) where the LMP1 class was won by the #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid, LMP2 Vaillante Rebellion.

The GTE-Pro class was won by the #51 AF Corse Ferrari. In GTE AM, the #98 Aston Martin won the class; In the IMSA WeatherTech Championship, Brembo brakes stopped the all-new Cadillac DPi-V.R for seven wins in the IMSA WeatherTech competition, including the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, 12 hours of Sebring and the championship for Wayne Taylor Racing #10 Cadillac DPi-V.R.

Performance Tech Motorsports won in the PC class while Scuderia Corsa was crowned the GTD champion with their #63 Ferrari 488. Brembo continues to shine off-road as well.

At the 50th running of the SCORE International Baja 1000, Apdaly Lopez and Team RPM took the overall win in their Chevrolet trophy truck and Brembo teams crossed the podium in the next three overall positions as well. Rob MacCachren won the Mint 400 on Brembo brakes in his #11 Ford F150 Trophy Truck. ​


Brembo’s dominance in racing in 2017 was not only reserved for four-wheel vehicles, as Brembo-equipped motorcycles also won every race in the three top series this season.

All of the MotoGP competitors were on Brembo brakes including four time champion Marc Marquez’s Honda; Jonathan Rea rode his Brembo-equipped Kawasaki to the World Superbike championship for the third year in a row; and Toni Elias of Suzuki was the MotoAmerica Superbike Champion.

Brembo’s dominance in motorcycles includes 27 MotoGP championships in the past 30 years, 25 out of 29 in World Superbike, and 25 straight in American Superbike.​


Founded in 1961, Brembo began racing in 1975 when Enzo Ferrari entrusted the Italian high-performance brake manufacturer with the task of fitting its most prestigious Formula 1 car. Since then, Brembo has been at the forefront of the motorsports arena, winning over 300 world championships.

Following is a partial list of Brembo’s 2017 Champions and Championship teams. Congratulations to all!

2017 World Championships (Partial List)
Brembo Brake Systems (Cars)

NASCAR Monster Energy Series
• Martin Truex Jr.; Toyota Camry

Open-wheel Championships F1
• Lewis Hamilton; Mercedes

Verizon IndyCar Series
• Josef Newgarden; Team Penske Chevrolet

Indy 500
• Takuma Sato; Andretti Autosport Honda

• Charles Leclerc; Prema Racing

• George Russell; Art Grand Prix European

• Lando Norris; Carlin

Super Formula
• Hiroaki Ishiura; Team

Closed-wheel Championships FIA World Endurance Championship
• LMP1: Timo Bernhard, Earl Bamber, Bendon Hartley; Porsche 919 Hybrid
• LMP2: Julien Canal, Bruno Senna; Rebellion Racing
• GTE PRO: James Calado, Alessandro Pier Guidi; AF Corse
• GTE AM: Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy, Mathias Lauda; Aston Martin

24 Hours of Le Mans
• LMP1: Timo Bernhard, Earl Bamber, Bendon Hartley; Porsche 919 Hybrid
• LMP2: Oliver Jarvis, Ho-Pin Tung, Thomas Laurent; Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca
• GTE PRO: Darren Turner, Jonathan Adam, Daniel Serra; Aston Martin
• GTE AM: Will Stevens, Robert Smith, Dries Vanthoor, Ferrari 488

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship
• DPi: Ricky Taylor, Jordan Taylor; Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R
• LMPC: James French, Patricio O’Ward; LMPC Oreca FLM09
• GTD: Christina Neilsen, Alessandro Balzan, Ferrari 488

Pirelli World Challenge GT Series
• GT SprintX Champions: Michael Cooper, Jordan Taylor; Cadillac ATS-V.R
• GTS: Lawson Aschenbach, Chevrolet Camaro GT4

Blancpain GT Series
• Mirko Botolotti, Christian Engelhart; Audi GRT Grasser Racing

SCORE International Overall & Trophy Truck Class
• Justin Matney; RPM Racing Trophy Truck

SCORE International Tecate SCORE Baja 1000
• Apdaly Lopez; RPM Ford F-150

Rally Championships
• Sebastian Ogier, Julien Ingrassia.; Ford RS MSport

Rally Raid - Dakar
• Stéphane Peterhansel, Jean-Paul Cottret; Team Peugeot Total

Brembo Brake Systems (Motorcycle)
• Marc Marquez; Repsol Honda

• Franco Morbidelli; MarcVDS Kalex

• Joan Mir; Leopard Racing Honda NSF250R

World Superbike
• Jonathan Rea; Team Kawasaki

World Superstock 1000
• Michael Ruben Rinaldi; Racing Ducati

SuperSport 600
• Yamaha 600 Team Yamaha Lucas Mahias

Supersport 300 (new category)
• Team Yamaha Marc Garcia

MotoAmerica Superbike
• Toni Elias; #24 Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000
• Niccolò Canepa e David Checa; GMT94 Yamaha

• Gareth Jones; Hertrampf-Racing Ducati Endurance

Motocross MX2
• Tony Cairoli; Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

Trial TR1 (World)
• Toni Bou; Montesa-HRC

Rally Raid Dakar
• Sam Sunderland; Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

Marchesini Wheels

World Superbike
• Jonathan Rea, #1 Team Kawasaki

• Lucas Mahias; Yamaha

• Michael Ruben Rinaldi: Ducati